Beyond the Fringe

After two weeks of convalescing after having our friend the cyst removed, (he went to a better place,) I was starting to climb the walls a bit. I mean the novelty of having an operation, my very FIRST(!) wore off exactly 3 seconds after waking up from it and realising that general anaesthetic makes me vomit in a projectile fashion and that the very little sense of balance that I do have had temporarily left.

I had broken the rules about “absolute bed rest” slightly during this time, to carry out important work such as this:

10514250_10152606140764707_7950318200069658056_o

 

So this week was another first in the life of Tillyflop –  I went to the Edinburgh Fringe. And, dear reader, I am in love.

And not just because of this:

2014-08-25 15.44.34-2

 

It was absolutely ALIVE, bursting with crazy energy, people running from show to show (myself included) and there was just this shared feeling of good will and love. And it suited my largely nocturnal body clock perfectly.

 

I got quite excited even before we got there (which, you probably saw if you are lucky – ha!- enough to follow me on twitter.) I have only ever been as far as Leeds on the train, so I bored Chris rigid by pointing at literally everything visible from the window north of Leeds. (Although I did manage to fit in 3 episodes of RuPaul’s Drag Race prior to that!) This is quite aptly demonstrated in my attempt to capture the sign at the border:

2014-08-23 12.30.58-2

2014-08-23 12.30.59-1

2014-08-23 12.31.00-1

 

Skillful.

When we got there, it was even better. 

I used to go to Edinburg as a kid but never during the festival, so I had a vague recollection of it, but I had forgotten the extent of its beauty and its quirkiness.  

 

I mean:

 2014-08-24 20.35.50

 

2014-08-24 20.28.29

 

It’s quite picturesquare, in’t it?

Aside from this, there were the shows too – where else is it socially acceptable (or financially viable) to watch three shows in one day and then stay up meeting friends until 3am and nothing else?  It was very difficult to choose what to see, given the VAST quantity of shows on offer, so I largely plumped to see shows that I knew people in and I have to admit that I got a bit choked up with motherly pride, there for a moment (or sixty).

So it is decided: I am going to be in a show in Edinburgh next year by hook, or by crook. If anyone needs an actor/idiot for their show next year, please do bear me in mind and maybe we can share this type of joy together:

2014-08-25 22.43.38

 

Or maybe not.

Leave a Reply

